The Ministry of Consumer Affairs is the ministerial department that is responsible for government policies related to the protection and defence of consumer rights as well as the regulation, authorisation, supervision, control and, where necessary, sanctioning of national level gambling activities.

Holder: Alberto Garzón Espinosa


The Ministry is made up of the following bodies:

  • General Secretariat for Consumer Affairs and Gambling, with the rank of Undersecretariat.
    • Directorate-General for Consumer Affairs (DGC)
      • Subdirectorate General for Coordination, Quality and Cooperation in Consumer Affairs.
      • Subdirectorate General for Arbitration and Consumer Rights.
    • Directorate General for the Regulation of Gambling (DGOJ)
      • Sub-Directorate General for the Regulation of Gambling.
      • Sub-Directorate General for the Inspection of Gambling.
  • Undersecretariat of Consumer Affairs.
    • Technical Secretariat-General.